Russ Ward named director for the Rowan campus, Maysville Community and Technical College | MCTC

Russ Ward named director for the Rowan campus, Maysville Community and Technical College

image of Russ WardMaysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) is pleased to announce that Russell C. Ward, a veteran educator of over twenty years, has been named Campus Director at the Rowan Campus of Maysville Community and Technical College.

Ward, professor of sociology and division chairperson of the Liberal Arts and Education division at MCTC, will continue to serve in those capacities while assuming the role as the director at the Rowan Campus.

Ward is a 1989 graduate of Morehead State University where he received his Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and his Master of Arts in Sociology. He is married to the former Kelly Allen and they have three daughters, Beth, Erin and Sarah.

Russ has proven to be a leader at MCTC, not only as the Liberal Arts and Education division chair but also as the vice chair and faculty representative to the Board of Directors for the college, said MCTC President Ed Story. We are fortunate to have such a versatile educator in our midst. Mr. Ward is visionary and an active student advocate. Living in Rowan County for many years, Mr. Ward is a natural to lead this campus.

Story went on to say that the Rowan Campus has grown considerably over the last few years. The transferability of many of the technical programs has added a dimension to the diploma and degree programs that is currently being explored by many students.

Professor Ward is the recipient of numerous teaching awards including the University of Kentucky Alumni Great Teacher Award, Ashland Community College Great Teacher Award, Phi Theta Kappa Paragon Advisor Award, Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) New Horizon Faculty Award and is a two time recipient of the University of Texas at Austin, NISOD Teaching Excellence award.

It is my belief that the students come first and we at MCTC, and specifically on the Rowan Campus, believe, as faculty and staff, we are here to serve our students and our communities, states Ward. As the former dean of academics at the campus during the Rowan Technical College era, Ward states, It is an honor to return to the Rowan campus and work with such dedicated individuals at the college.

Maysville Community and Technical College, a part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, is made up of the Rowan campus in Morehead, the Licking Valley campus in Cynthiana and the Maysville campus in Maysville. The college also has the Montgomery extension in Mt. Sterling and the Donald W. Kiser extension in Paris. TheRowan Campus, formerly Rowan Technical College, is the academic home of MCTC's Industrial Technologies division, which includes programs such as Welding Technology, Machine Tool Technology, and Automotive Technology.