MCTCs Summer Scholarship Scramble Celebrates Twenty Years | MCTC

MCTCs Summer Scholarship Scramble Celebrates Twenty Years

Maysville Community and Technical College held its 20th Summer Scholarship Scramble on Saturday, July 9, at Laurel Oaks Golf course with 99 golfers teeing off. The tournament, held to raise money to fund scholarships for students attending Maysville Community and Technical College, has drawn incredible community support in the past twenty years. These scholarships allow deserving students to pursue a college education.

MCTC President Ed Story welcomed the golfers and thanked them for their continued support of the colleges students. James Shires, MCTC retired president, was honored by the scholarship committee for his involvement in the creation of the scramble 20 years ago.

Cash and other prizes were awarded to three teams. Doug McFarland, Josh Johnson, John Beasley, Brent Shively, Frankie Stephens and Chad Wilson made up the first place team. Each member of this team received a cash prize, two University of Kentucky football tickets, and a deShas gift certificate as well as championship hats. The second place team members were Phillip Grayson, Ray Helton, Linda Helton, Charlie Thomas, Eddie Johnson, and Dale Helphenstine. The members of this team each received a cash prize and a box of golf balls. Each member of the third place team received a cash prize and golfers surprise. The team members were Bill O'Mara, Doug Bowery, Keith Sherman, Russ Curtis, Vic Pooler and Ken Bruner.

Prizes were also given out for special holes. Eric Schumacher won the Longest Drive for a male on Hole #1. Cindy Bailey won the Longest Drive for a female on Hole #2. Chad Wilson won Closest to the Pin on Hole #8 while Jeremy Darnell won Longest Putt for a male on Hole #9. Belinda Breslin won the Longest Putt for a female on Hole #12 and Brent Shively won longest putt for a male on Hole #12. Rick Kendall won the Most Accurate on Hole #14 and Jerry Pfeffer won Closest to the Pin on Hole #16. The Jeff O'Cull team won the Shortest Putt made by a team on Hole #18 and the members were Jeff O'Cull, Jeremy Darnell, Terry Young, and Tracy Hunt.

Raffle winners included the following: John Finney, who was the winner of the hot air balloon ride donated by the Buffalo Trace Balloon Race committee; Randall George, who won a patriotic Longaberger basket of assorted wines and picnic items donated by Judi Crawford; Gary Salyers, who won the travel putter donated by the Boys Scouts of America; Bill Vice, who was the winner of a UK clothing package donated by Mason County Farm Bureau; and John Walker, who won a three month YMCA membership donated by the Limestone Family YMCA. All raffle proceeds were put into the student scholarship fund.

Area businesses donated a variety of items, the proceeds of which were also added to the fund. Russ Curtis purchased the Downtown Maysville postcards print, Pete Wright purchased the Valhalla Golf Course print, and Kelly Clarke purchased the UK print all donated by Russell Hughes of the Home Frame Shop in Ewing, Kentucky. Mark Comer purchased the Augusta National Golf Court print donated by Harry Mann of M and M Custom Framing in Maysville, KY. Dickie Butler purchased the Dell Inspiron duo laptop donated by Dell. Dale Helphenstine purchased the 4 Cincinnati Reds Technology Pavilion seat tickets donated by Cincinnati Bell Technology Systems and Jerry Pfeffer purchased the golf clubs and bag donated by Dunhams Sports.

All in all it was a wonderful day, said Cara Clarke, golf committee chair. The support of this community never ceases to amaze me. Kudos to the hardworking committee members and folks from Laurel Oaks for making our 20th anniversary scramble a rousing success. We are very thankful for all of the generous sponsors who help our students year in and out. Thanks also to the 99 golfers who participated. The day truly couldnt have been any better.