MCTC begins partnership with AAUW | MCTC

News Archive

MCTC begins partnership with AAUW

The Ledger Independentimage of Dr. Juston Pate, Sharon White-Coe and Lynn Ellen Lindsay


Sharyn White-Coe of Kentucky AAUW College/University Relations, is proud to announce the partnership of Maysville Community and Technical College with the American Association of University Womens Partner Membership Program.

This partnership connects MCTC and their students to the oldest and most powerful women's organization in the country. Together, this will help women on campus achieve their goals and become tomorrows leaders. Backed by a network of nearly 100,000 members and 1,000 branches, AAUW will help MCTC to spread the word about $3 million in fellowships and grants, strengthen our community though programs for women, support public policy initiatives, and give female students and faculty a dynamic national network.

Dr. Juston Pate, Chief Academic Officer at MCTC, says,We are very happy to be involved in a program that coordinates and promotes action on higher education concerns for our students and also
encourages MCTCs involvement in our community. Dr. Pate has appointed Lynne Ellen Lindsay and Donna Slone as the liaisons between the college and AAUW,which makes them voting delegates for the institution at state and national conventions.

Also, Marsha Jones of the Maysville branch will be the local contact with Lindsay and Stone to assist in developing programs and helping to involve students in the electronic, student affiliate program which is free to all student now that MCTC is a partner. The student program helps students with scholarships, assistance, and research material and serves as a link to all AAUW activities.
Mrs. White-Coe says that MCTC will be connected to the Maysville AAUW Branch,which was activated in 1949 with Harriett Hord Cartmell, as its first president. Other charter members were Mary Evolyn Mains, Jane Wright and Jean Calvert. These women paved the way for the current organization that is led by President Sue Ellen Grannis. The Maysville Branch has several members on the AAUW Kentucky State Board currently led by President Jan Applegate of the Maysville Branch.

Anyone with a two-year degree or higher is eligible to join AAUW. Mrs. White-Coe is also the Maysville Branch vice president for Membership and can be contracted at for information on joining this organization.