Maysville Community and Technical College Hosts 18th Annual Summer Scholarship Scramble

image of SSS 1st place teamMaysville Community and Technical College held the eighteenth Summer Scholarship Scramble on Saturday, July 11, at Laurel Oaks Golf course with 93 golfers teeing off. The tournament, held to raise money to fund scholarships for students attending Maysville Community and Technical College, has drawn incredible community support in the past eighteen years. These scholarships allow deserving students to pursue a college education.

Gary Carrington, Chris Carrington, Nathan Richardson, Ray Terry, Jeff Otis, Randy Tackett, and Robyn Dufty made up the 1st place team. Each member of this team received a cash prize, two University of Kentucky football tickets, and a deShas gift certificate as well as championship hats.

The 2nd place team members were Chad Wilson, Jerry Edwards, Vaughn Hoop, Doug McFarland, Frankie Stephens, and Pete Robinson. The members of this team each received a cash prize and a box of golf balls. Each member of the 3rd place team received a cash prize and golfers surprise and they were Phillip Grayson, Gene Littleton, Jerry Ormes, Andy Applegate, Rodney Carver, Bob Emmons, and Juston Pate.

Prizes were also given out for special holes. Randy Tackett won the Longest Drive for a male on Hole #1, Robyn Dufty won the Longest Drive for a female on Hole #2, Izzy Grayson won Closest to the pin on Hole #7, Dewey Applegate won Closest to the Pin on Hole #8, and Donnie Brookbank won Longest Putt for a male on Hole #9. Randy Ross won the Longest Putt for a male on Hole #12, Bill OMara won the Most Accurate Drive on Hole #14, and Randy Norwood won Closest to the Pin on Hole #16.

The Andrew Grayson team won the Shortest Putt made by a team on Hole #18. They were Jerry Pfeffer, Randy Ross, Tom Coe, Mike Noel, Mike Stitt, and Andrew Grayson. Raffle winners were Pat Gantley who won product donated by Barrel House Distilling Company, Rick Pumpelly who was the winner of the hot air balloon ride donated by the Buffalo Trace Balloon Race committee and Doug McFarland who won a basket of assorted wines and picnic items. Phillip Grayson purchased the two framed prints donated in part by Russell Hughes of the Home Frame Shop in Ewing, Kentucky.

We had another picture perfect day for the scramble, said Cara Clarke, director of Resource Development. We are proud and humbled that such a large number of community members offer support for the college and our students. It is rewarding that many of our golfer return year after year and bring new golfers with them. Once again our students will reap the benefits.