MCTC honors graduates during 55th commencement | MCTC

News Archive

MCTC honors graduates during 55th commencement

Published on May 22, 2024

By Megan Smedley

Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) held its 55th commencement ceremony on May 3 at the Mason County Fieldhouse in Maysville.

Over 175 students participated in the ceremony, which opened with graduate Amanda Smith singing the National Anthem and Kirsten Griggs providing the invocation.

Prior to the graduates walking across the stage, Dr. Laura McCullough, MCTC President/CEO presented the President’s Award of Excellence to Christian Garner, Amber Johnson, Alexandra Martin, and Trevor Pfeifer.

Both Garner and Martin made remarks during the ceremony.

“I would like to say congratulations to all the graduates today,” said Garner. “This is a huge accomplishment for all of us, and each of us have had to overcome our own hardships and obstacles.”

She added, “I mean it from the bottom of my heart when I say thank you to every faculty and staff member, from our caring custodial workers to our amazing president that have worked so diligently to help us graduate. Thank you to our wonderful families. Without your kindness, love, and continual support, we would not be here today.”

During her remarks, Alexandra Martin offered some advice to her peers and asked a favor of them.

“Remember what this community has done for us and what it means to us. I am new here, but I will be grateful for Maysville for the rest of my life. So please, once you begin your careers, find ways to give back to our school and town,” she said.

Following those recognitions, candidates were presented by Dr. Dana Calland, Chief Academic Officer, and degrees were conferred by McCullough.

Members of the class of 2024 include:

  • Adams County, Ohio: Kaylee Freeman, Savannah Perrigo, Holley Preston-Lehr, and Carlie Shiveley
  • Bath County: Nila Barnes, Brittany Caldwell, Montanna Carpenter, Martina Chapman, Jamie Fraley, Brooks Gose, Matthew Hardin, Logan Henderson, Lewis Keller, James Lewis, Wyatt Means, Haley Stephens, and Joanna Tapp
  • Bourbon County: Bradley Mosley, Trevor Pfeifer, Autumn Rutledge, and Kathryn Sturgeon
  • Bracken County: Issac Adams, Kaylee Barrett, Amelia Cracraft, Caine-Robert Cummins, Alysianne Desha, Austin Fryman, Cathy Henderson, Kason Hinson, Shannon Kirk, Maliyah Norris, Christopher Rudd, Ronald Shackelford, and Jennifer Wallingford
  • Brown County, Ohio: Dustin Earls, Adam Griffith, Tyler McGlothin, Christian Morse, Patrick Taylor, and April Warman
  • Bullitt County: Joseph Alan
  • Carter County: Eric Conn, Danielle Davis, Jolena Duncan, Tesla Jackson, Alexis Lawhorn, Samuel Rayburn, and Tabitha Stapleton
  • Clark County: Joshua Paynter, Jaylen Stacy, and Allison Wilson
  • Clermont County, Ohio: Alicia Walters
  • Elliott County: Desirae Moore and James Randolph
  • Fayette County: Jonathan McClary and Kacie Underwood
  • Fleming County: Nathaniel Brumett, Kaitlyn Burton, Nolan Caudill, Dawson Flora, Monica Fooks, Jayda Gibbs, Daphne Hilterbrand, Stacey Humphries, Gracey Newsom, Michael Osborne, Gerri Pollitt, Ada Porter, Summer Stevens, Tiffany Sweet, Markayla Taylor, John Utterback, and Morgan Williams
  • Floyd County: William Eskridge and Ronald Skaggs
  • Hamilton County, Ohio: Marshall Bertram
  • Harlan County: Gilbert Holts
  • Harrison County: Amy Acahua, Hayley Baker, Jenna Berry, Ava Craig, Kirsten Griggs, Shelby Gross, Ellie Henderson, Jackson Hopkins, Taylor Hunt, Alexis Jones, Jessalyn Kuntz, Adyson Lakes, Elizabeth Levi, Gwen Livingood, Kelsey Marx, Lucas Mascio-Thompson, Jennifer Mullins, Rachel Rogers, Taylor Ross, Rebecca Ryan, Amanda Schimpler, Aaliyah Stidham, Olivia Tucker, and Kelci Wiglesworth
  • Jefferson County: Ethan Allen, Christopher Bauda, Travelle Brockington, Charles Edwards, Steven Hutchens, and Joseph Wright
  • Jessamine County: Jerrica Osborne
  • Johnson County: Cassandra Chandler and Tyler Griffin
  • Kenton County: Katie Brown, Sydney Bradford, and Meckenzi Zink
  • Leslie County: Charles Watts
  • Lewis County: Carolina Beers, Blaze Bevens, Sarah Buckner, Monty Ginn, Sarah Henderson, Lawessa Madden, Mary Miller, Brookelyn Myers, Tabitha Noel, Sara Pence, and Rebecca Saunders
  • Mason County: Ashlee Applegate, Kaley Avery, Skyler Burlew, Destiny Carpenter, Kacie Conley, Alexyia Cooper, Caleb Corns, Gavin Cracraft, Charles Dinkins, Taylor Dinkins, Nicholas Dixon, Brooke Doyle, Heather Dudley, Daniel Evans, Austin Floyd, Jacob Frodge, Kyler Grooms, Breanna Harney, Joseph Hiatt, Whitney Irvin, Alexandra Lipovanu, Petra Marshall, Kynedee Mauney, K-Leigh Mcpherson, Ashley Metcalf, Brittany Miller, Montiya Morton, James Perraut, Alaina Poe, Shawnya Porter, Crystal Purdon, Allen Rankin, Annelise Reetz, Robbia Robinson, Lucas Rosselot, Connor Sears, Amanda Smith, Adison Starrett, Kandis Sweet, Rachel Towner, Kayla Tracy, Darrin Tumey, Toni White, and Michelle Wylie
  • Menifee County: Joseph Back, Trinton Brooks, Skylar Deskins, Wade Donathan, Stephanie Masters, Byshop Morris, Austin Peck, and Justin Stewart
  • Mercer County: Johnathan Waldrep
  • Montgomery County: Taylor Allen, Alicia Barnhill, Tabitha Barrett, Trey Brady, Jacob Brewer, Tyler Bromagen, Gwyndolan Carpenter, Araya Coar, Daniel Coldiron, Autumn Conyers, Daniel Garcia, Christian Garner, Elizabeth Hall, Kayli Henderson, Lezlie Henderson, Trevor Lawson, Ann Loveless, Genean Martin, Kayla Mitchell, Brennan Morris, Abigail Patrick, Lucy Payne, Justin Rogers, Halie Rose, Sheena Shearer, Samuel Smallwood, Hunter Stull, Michael Vice, Ethan Walters, and Dakota Williams
  • Morgan County: Avery Bailey, Douglas Baker, Douglas Baker, Desmond Coates, Christopher Cobb, Ralph Goss, Virginia Hall, Jamah Harris, Charity Jenkins, Michael Keith, Liam Morgan, Mandy Schlauch, Edward Shewmaker, Emily Webb, and Madison Whitt
  • Nelson County: Pamela Davis
  • Nicholas County: Blake Applegate, Amy Brown, Samantha Frederick, Dawson Hughes, Keeli Hughes, Lauren Tedder, Isabella Thacker, and Nadia Walker
  • Pendleton County: Kevin Bruin, Ashley Guy, and Ashley Herron
  • Perry County: Shannon Slone
  • Pike County: Jessica Damron and Brodi Lowe
  • Powell County: Melissa Abner, Jacob Brandenburg, Khloe Campbell, Madison Fugate, Kinxston Means, Franklin Means, Jaythus Nolan, and Tanya Tracy
  • Robertson County: Kelsi Allen, Grace Courtney, and Arlie Earlywine
  • Rowan County: Amy Blevins, Brianna Blevins, Mariah Carter, Rebecca Charles, Hunter Crouch, Andrew Crum, Samantha Goforth, Chase Hamilton, Haley Howard, Amber Johnson, Aariel Jones, Joshua Layne, Haliegh Mabry, Nancy Maggard, Kya Mcintosh, Devan Murphy, Michael Musser, Ryan Ouderkirk, Madison Owens, Trevor Past, Ashley Pennington, John-Tyler Perkins, Sarah Reed, Joshua Richmond, Sabrina Shafer Evans, Hayley Shanley, Haylee Smith, and Braxton Terry
  • Scott Country: Renee Christopher
  • Washington County: Justin Laytart
  • Woodford County: David Gibson and Griffin Sutterlin

“On behalf of the faculty, staff, and the Board of Directors, may I commend you again on this milestone,” McCullough said. “You join an impressive and extensive list of alumni who call MCTC their alma mater. To whom much is given, much is required. So take your education, your skills, your talents and be great.”