Poetry Celebration 2010 | MCTC

Poetry Celebration 2010

Poetry Celebration to be held at Maysville Community and Technical College on April 22. We are celebrating April, National Poetry Month, by recognizing student writing and the work of award-winning published poets. We have selected finalists in our 4th Annual Student Poetry Writing Contest, sponsored by the M.C.T.C. Foundation:

Jessica Davis for Misleading Objectives

Jessica M. Davis for Untitled

Anna R. Evans for Dreaming Moon

Michael Massey for I Come From

Brad Miller for The Dance

Jodi Lane Moran for Apex.

Elizabeth Peef for THUNDERSTORM and Boxes

Pamela Powell for I NEVER FORGET

Deri R. Pryor for Closet in the Hall

Marjorie Sauer for The Visitor

Natasha Walker for Mrs. Willa Bea

Matt Walton This Is Home

Finalists have been invited to read their work at our awards ceremony to be held on April 22 on the Maysville campus in Crockett Auditorium at 2 p.m. The event is free and open to the public, and light refreshments will be provided.
Students poems are judged anonymously, and finalists are selected by the English faculty. From those, a specially-selected poet chooses first-, second-, and third-place winners. This year award-winning writer Nikki Finney is the judge and honored reader. Prizewinners will be announced at the event.

If you would like to do more to celebrate National Poetry Month, buy a book of poetry by Nikki Finney, explore the poems of other American poets at The Academy of American Poets at poets.org, or (shameless plug) check out my own collection, Persistence of Vision, published by Wind Publications and available on Amazon.com and Joseph Beth Booksellers in Lexington. You can also read more about Ms. Finney at The Poetry Center. For more information about our poetry events, contact by emailDr. Lynn Shafferor by phoneat 606-759-7141 extension 66105. Come celebrate with us!