MCTC's nineteenth annual Summer Scholarship Scramble held at Laurel Oaks | MCTC

News Archive

MCTC's nineteenth annual Summer Scholarship Scramble held at Laurel Oaks

Eighty-five golfers teed off Saturday, July 10, at Laurel Oaks Golf course kicking off Maysville Community and Technical Colleges nineteenth annual Summer Scholarship Scramble. The tournament, held to raise money to fund scholarships for students attending Maysville Community and Technical College, has drawn incredible community support in the past and this year was no different. These scholarships allow deserving students to pursue a college education.

Charles Thomas, Ed Johnson, Phillip Grayson, Rick Kendall and Joyce Jones made up the 1st place team. Each member of this team received a cash prize, two Cincinnati Reds tickets, and a deShas gift certificate as well as championship hats.

The 2nd place team members were Russ Curtis, Ken Brunner, Chris Blum, James Doc Shires, Charlie Calvert and David Robb.The members of this team each received a cash prize and a box of golf balls. Each member of the 3rd place team received a cash prize and golfers surprise and they were Jeff OCull, Mike Rice, Jeremy Darnell, Nathan Fossitt, Dale Helphenstine and Bill OMara.

Prizes were also given out for special holes.Bill OMara won the Longest Drive for a male on Hole #1,Jodi Bertram won the Longest Drive for a female on Hole #2,Bill OMara won Closest to the Pin on Hole #8, andDavid Robbwon Longest Putt for a male on Hole #9. Gary Salyers won the Longest Putt for a male on Hole #12 and Joyce Jones won the Longest Putt for a female on Hole # 12. Phillip Grayson won the Most Accurate Drive on Hole #14, andJim Tichenorwon Closest to the Pin on Hole #16.

The Kelly Clarketeam won the Shortest Putt made by a team on Hole #18. Members of the Clarke team were Kelly Clarke, Michael Clarke, Rob Muse, Berz Wagner, John Carpenter and Riley Wulz. Raffle prizes went to Jeff OCull, winner of the hot air balloon ride donated by the Buffalo Trace Balloon Race committee and Jason Butler, the winner of the UK Longaberger basket with assorted items donated by Judi Crawford, product donated by Barrell House Distilling Company and 4 Mason County football tailgate dinner tickets donated by Matthew Grayson. Jerry Pfeffer donated a 1968-69 Maysville High School Band album that was purchased by Rhonda Sullivan. Kelly Clarke purchased a Wildcat framed print and Richard Rush purchased a Simon Kenton Bridge framed print donated by Russell Hughes of the Home Frame Shop in Ewing, KY and Tammie Brown of Foxport, KY. Rick Pumpelly purchased the CBTS Cincinnati Reds Pavilion package donated by Cinti Bell Technology Solutions

The scramble was once again a success, said Cara Clarke, director of Resource Development. The weather was lovely, food delicious, and a good time was had by all. The support of so many organizations and community members never ceases to amaze me. It is rewarding that many of our golfers return year after year and bring new golfers with them. Once again our students will reap the benefits. The 20th annual Summer Scholarship Scramble will be held Saturday, July 9, 2011.

First Place Winners:

image of first place winners

Second Place Winners:

image of second place winners

Third Place Winners:

image of third place winners