MCTC Holds Annual Fall In-Service Meeting | MCTC

News Archive

MCTC Holds Annual Fall In-Service Meeting

Aug. 7, 2019
By Brady Shultz

Maysville, KY – Maysville Community and Technical College held their annual In-Service meeting Thursday, August 1 on the Maysville Campus. The meeting is the official kick-off for the fall semester and provides college leadership an opportunity to provide updates to faculty and staff before students arrive on August 19.

MCTC President Dr. Stephen Vacik opened the day with an update on the college, a student enrollment update was presented by Chief Enrollment Officer Jessica Kern, and Chief Financial Officer Barb Campbell gave a brief overview of the budget for the year. The group also welcomed Keynote Speaker Dr. Betty Young, President of Hocking College, who spoke about how she and her staff turned their institution around financially using entrepreneurial approaches. The day concluded with members from the KCTCS System Office legal department discussing new statutes in the state of Kentucky and how they affect the college.

Staff awards were also presented to those earning promotions, achieving a milestone in years of service, and those named New Horizons Award recipients.

Those recognized for receiving a promotion are:
Assistant Professor - David Hatton – Industrial Maintenance Technology, Charles Lykins – Mathematics, Christina McCleanhan - English, Mary Alice Prater- Physical Therapy Assistant, Luanne Wilson – Nursing
Associate Professor - Adam Hawkins - Air Conditioning Technology, Jack Hawkins - Air Conditioning Technology, Natasha Maddox – Accounting
Professor - Dr. Chris Sears - Mathematics

Those achieving a milestone for years of service are:
Five Years - Jennifer Adler, Tammy Alburg, Natalee Brown, Brittany Corde, Rick Douglas, Dustin Grooms, Joetta Johnson, Dallas McKinney, Brenda Moore, Jennifer Ouderkirk, John Rice, Sharon Staviski, Rita Thomas and Chef Lawrence Patrick Zemba
Ten Years - Kenneth Barnett, Kyle Pecco, Brianna Whitten, Wylie N. Hedge III and Christina Sandoval
Fifteen Years - Rob Hamm
Twenty Years - Cara Clarke
Twenty-Five Years - Melissa Carroll

Receiving the New Horizons Awards as voted on by past winners after nomination:
Faculty - Tina Cutis
Administrative Support Staff - Tammy Fite
Administrative Staff - Sherry Stacy